i’m tired

…of being nice.

2 Thes 3:13 says to not tire of doing good. Alrighty then. But what about being nice? As in, being sugary sweet and wording things in a diplomatic way so that no one is offended? As in political correctness? Is all of that in the Bible too? Ehh, maybe.

Don’t you ever just get sick and tired of it? Obviously, I do.

On the other hand I realize that I don’t have the thickest skin; so if someone treated me with the same lack of care for niceties I might get my feelings hurt. Well I’m a fairly wimpy person and take things seriously so this is expected on my part. I work on it, but I have a soft heart and an ear for tone and vocabulary. I care what people think.

Still, if I get tired of being nice, I don’t blame others for being tired either. Sometimes we just need to be blunt, frank, and other one syllable words that remind me of a baseball bat in the hands of a thick-necked bouncer. I’m not sure what those words are yet, but if I think of any, I’ll let you know.

I’ll feel much more diplomatic tomorrow, I’m sure.

2 thoughts on “i’m tired

Comments are closed.