Don’t Wash Me!

My family used to live on a dirt road. Having a car caked with dust and mud was a way of life, and car washes were few and far between. Over time, the grime would cover the side panels and rear windows, and no self-respecting pedestrian can resist a good “Wash Me” Gram written on the glass.

What’s unfortunate is that millions of pedestrians seem to think that “wash me” is the only option for such scribblings. If faced with the opportunity again, I might scrawl a haiku; but Scott Wade can do much, much better:

Hmmm… this looks ripe with opportunity!

photo ©2006 John McDavitt

photo ©2006 John McDavitt

Ahh… so much better!

photo ©2006 Scott Wade

photo ©2006 Scott Wade

photo ©2006 Jules Alexander

photo ©2006 Jules Alexander

If I was Scott Wade’s car, I’d be on my knees shocks begging, “Please, sir, don’t wash me!”

One of the forms of art I admire most is temporary; It’s not done for a gallery wall, museum, or long term financial investment. It’s simply about expression, fun, and utilizing what you find around you to make the world more beautiful. For another example of temporary art, check out the sidewalk artist Julian Beever.

And so to you, your messy car, and all those who ride in it, I wish a very messy holiday season!

photo ©2006 Robin Wood

photo ©2006 Robin Wood

Thanks to a coworker for the tip!
2 thoughts on “Don’t Wash Me!

Comments are closed.