literate

It’s hard tp resist a good book, and it’s also hard to resist the reading questionaire posted by Ste.

1.) Do you read often? How many books would you say you read in a year? Do you read magazines?
I read all the time, whether for class or for pleasure. I read about 3-4 books a month depending, of course, on the length and subjectmatter. I also read some magazines when I come across them. I am not a subscriber to any.

2.) When you read, what type of books do you read? What type of magazines? What are some of your favorite books or magazines?
I don’t read enough classics, but don’t usually feel obligated to. I read a lot of Christian fiction and nonfiction and I love mysteries and books with actions and intrigue. I can’t wait to get my hands on LOTR and the Narnia cronicals, since I won both series.
Some of my favorite books (novels) have been:
Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
This Present Darkness by Frank Peretti
Blessed Child by Bill Bright and Ted Dekker
The Mark of the Lion series by Francine Rivers
Enders Game by Orson Scott Card
and so many others.

Magazines I enjoy:
Popular Science
Consumer Reports
Wired
Games
National Geographic
Readers Digest

3.) If you read, why do you think you read? If you don’t, why not? (i.e. “I was an only child and reading was an escape.” NOT “I read because it’s fun.” I’m looking for the deeper reasoning behind it.)
I have always been inspired by others’ writing. It helps me improve my style as I write. A good writer should always be a good reader. I also love to read because my imagination gets wrapped up in the story. It’s hard for my mind to surface after diving deep into a novel.

4.) Did you read a lot as a child? What are some of your favorite books from childhood?
I read some. I mostly read The Babysitters Club and Readers Digest and other chapter books that I got at the library (like The Giver for instance- one of the best books ever written for children).

5.) When do you read? Do you read in specific places? (If so, where?)
I read at night mostly, or when I’m especially bored during the day. I love to read before bed because at night my mind is the most alert and my imagination is especially ripe. I read in bed, lying on couches, anywhere.

6.) Last question: How do you choose books to read?
I do judge books by their cover. Sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn’t. When I buy a novel I read the synopsis on the back or on the inside flap. I go for books that are recommended by other suthors I know. I also take the advice of other readers that understand my tastes.

3 thoughts on “literate

  1. Thanks for responding. :D Have you read any of the other books in the Ender’s Game series? If you haven’t, be sure to check them out … *really* great sequels. I keep seeing Memoirs of a Geisha and it has intrigued me, but it sounded a bit risque … perhaps I’ll give it a try anyway. :)

  2. Rachel, isn’t it fantastic? She’s a wonderful author. I also recommend, if you haven’t read them, the Lineage of Grace series. All are short novellas with Bible studies in the back. I especially recommend the book on Mary the Mother of our Lord Jesus. I was so stricken with empathy throughout the story. It was an amazing experience.

    I haven’t yet, Ste. I’ve heard about the sequels from quite a few people who liked them. Perhaps I’ll invest. I enjoyed Memoirs of a Geisha because it was a lovely piece of gentle fiction prose. The rhythm was never too fast and the descriptions were… fabulous to say the least. I actually don’t think of it as risque at all. If there were parts you might consider risque, I don’t remember any of them right now. I suppose that might say something.

Comments are closed.