I am that tree

Somehow knew that the tree was a symbol that resounded within my heart… I’ve always gravitated towards it, noticed it, needed it…

and once again I find that I am that tree… here is a post i wrote when thinking about Shel Silverstein’s book The Giving Tree:

I ADORE that book…

it actually speaks to what I’ve been going through in the past three years in some tough friendships. I gave and gave and gave because this person was selfish and had no guage for when that was inappropriate. in the past few years I had experienced numerous emotional breakdowns because of being used so callously and then being blamed for not giving enough when i was in reality bled dry… like the Giving Tree…

there are many deeper meanings about that book, but one that resonates for me is “you will die if you give yourself away completely”… and I feel like emotionally and mentally… I had died from the relationship in my life…

