drool

I would like to start off this post by saying that I have possibly found the best meal known to man and it has now become my guilty pleasure. This meal may now be found at your local TGI Fridays and is called the Jack Daniels Beef Brisket platter. The sweet, savoury sauce combined with seasoned mashed potatoes, onion strings, and corn-on-the-cob is possibly the only meal that I could have every day and not be bored. Of course, this is coming from me: Julia, the simple eater who loves American cuisine. And by American “cuisine” I mean tasty big meals that aren’t too complicated. So sue me. Law’s working on me to love foreign cooking, and I’m trying–really I am. I can handle the normal fare: Chinese, Mexican, Italian, some Indian and Middle Eastern, etc. But when it comes to Cantonese cuisine (bonus points for the person who can quote the movie line about Cantonese cuisine in Washington D.C.!), Thai food, or anything from Africa, I’m at a loss. I even live amongst a giant Polish and German population and I have to say I’m scared to try anything with schnitzel or kielbasa anywhere near it. I need to diversify. I know! But right now all I can think of is that juicy sauce, the wonderfully tender beef, and those amazing mashed potatoes that would scoff at the sight of butter or salt.

Oh well. American it is :)

5 thoughts on “drool

  1. you know what schnitzel is right? It’s like really flat breaded fried meat, like southern fried. Weiner Schnitzel is basically like southern fried veal and it’s really yummy.

    Kielbasa is just a sausage, you like pepperoni, and sausage, and salami and stuff like that right? those are all sausages, just like kielbasa.

Comments are closed.