He’s crazy!

I think Yeshua is nuts!

And by that I mean he’s wild, bold, and revolutionary.

He’s mean.

do you agree? Why or why not?

The reason i make this claim:

Yeshua didn’t go throwing daisies at everyone and giving his followers loveydovey hugs and dismissing their behavior or ignoring what was going on.  He called sin what it was. He demanded a higher standard, not a lower one.

He was not “Buddy Christ” and did not just preach love, happiness, and fuzzy times. He preached the Kingdom because He is King! And he reigns now! And if we don’t follow the King, we are conquered just like all who defy Him and disregard His Kingdom.

He demanded love that hurt. It took sacrifice, effort, and by golly, it wasn’t comfortable. People were turned away from him. He yelled. He ranted. He rebuked. He did all of these things in perfect righteousness. Why are we so scared of letting Him be so bold? Why is he losing his identity of a “lion”? Why don’t we see him as revolutionary?

But this seems to be what we teach each other. He’s a wimp, a spineless man who just wants to make people feel good inside. Is this what we truly see in the Scriptures?

How often do we pay close attention to the difficult words of Yeshua? How often do we study those passages instead of the fluffy ones we like to throw around like candy?

I speak harshly because I can’t stand this watered down Messiah we often portray. It’s a disgrace to who I see the King to be. Yes, G-d is love. Messiah is also love because Messiah is G-d! But it’s a harsh love, a complicated, amazing, powerful love that knocks you off your feet and onto your face.

G-d is our Father. Yes! Halleluyah! But is he spending all of His time cuddling us and letting us do whatever He wants? No. He is Holy! Kadosh! Beyond our imagination. He demands holiness. He doesn’t suggest it if it’s convenient for us or if we even feel convicted about it or not. He demands it. He’s wild. He’s powerful. And He’s our Father the King!

so does that make you fired up? Does it make you peeved? Does it scare you to deal with a G-d that is serious, demanding, and loving all at once?

Does it even effect your life at all?

That’s what I mean.

8 thoughts on “He’s crazy!

  1. You bet! He offended those who we would want on our sides. Hmmm. I think he’s got it right and we’ve got it wrong.

    I think this comes from G-d’s economy being created from the bottom up:
    servant king
    last is first
    blessed are the poor
    he protects the weak and punishes those who do not
    humble are glorified

    etc.

  2. It’s important to remember that God is not Santa Claus. God doesn’t change. He is the same God who killed all of the firstborn in Egypt. He is the same God you had the Israelites completely destroy the people living in Canaan.

    Why do you write G-d instead of God?

  3. sometimes it’s a habit. I’m a member on a message board where many people write it that way out of reverence for the Name of God and His titles. It’s a Jewish tradition, and I do it out of respect for them. Now it’s kind of a habitual thing to reach for the dash instead of the ‘o’. I don’t feel that convicted about doing it online because I don’t think anyone will print out and throw away my posts or comments. However, if I found out they did I would start protecting the Name as best I could.
    I didn’t even realize I was doing it in this post until you mentioned it. :D

    More info here: http://www.jewfaq.org/name.htm

  4. Hmm…I agree with everything except him being mean.

    Jesus is such a complex person. He stuck to his guns, but he was also uber compassionate.

    I can’t think of the same man who said to the woman caught in adultery “Have none of these people condemned you? Neither do I, go and sin no more.” as mean. True, he called sin sin. He told her to stop the bad behavior. But before he did any of that, he showered her with love and mercy.

    He’s done the same to any of us who call Him Savior.

    He’s the Lion and the Lamb. If we lean too much at looking at Him as the Lion, we miss out on His compassionate nature. If we lean too much at looking at Him as the Lamb, we miss out on His absolute authority, His absolute truth, the consequences for our disobedience.

    There’s a delicate balance there.

  5. Ahh, you put it so nice and succinct. We need to understand the seriousness of who God is. I don’t think that Yeshua was very nice and calm when He turned over the tables in the Temple. He was furious! Zeal for My Father’s House has CONSUMED Me!!! Keep speaking the truth, Julie!

  6. He was not “Buddy Christ” and did not just preach love, happiness, and fuzzy times.

    I agree! And this is why so many mainstream movies about Christianity bother me. Movies like Dogma and Saved I actually liked because they had potential, they could actually make some good comments about the Church and Christianity but they ALWAYS end up being some hippy-lovey-fuzzy message and that pisses me off.

    I think Lewis said it best in LWW:

    “Is he – quite safe? I shall feel rather nervous about meeting a lion.” [said Susan about Aslan]

    “…if there’s anyone who can appear before Aslan without their knees knocking, they’re either braver than most or else justsilly..” [said Mrs. Beaver]

    “Then he isn’t safe?” said Lucy.

    “Safe?” said Mr. Beaver; “don’t you hear what Mrs. Beaver tells you? Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the King, I tell you.”

  7. *applause* yes, exactly. He isn’t safe, but he’s good! that’s my Master, my Lion.

    Thanks for that quote. I need to mark up my large volume of that series so I can find my favourite quotes more easily.

Comments are closed.