which generation did he mean?

I wanted to repost something I had written on christianforums.com because I’d like to keep it “on file” as it were. I also would like to learn more about what other people think concerning these passages.

First, let me quote the post that I responded to:

There are a couple places in the gospels where it seems that Jesus was saying that he was going to come back in the generation to which he was in. Some examples are:

Matt 16:28 Assuredly, I say to you, there are some standing here who shall not taste death till they see the Son of Man coming in His kingdom.

Mark 13:30 Assuredly, I say to you, this generation will by no means pass away till all these things take place.

And if that was what was meant, how does this OT scripture reflect on that.

Deut 18:22 when a prophet speaks in the name of the LORD, if the thing does not happen or come to pass, that is the thing which the LORD has not spoken; the prophet has spoken it presumptuously; you shall not be afraid of him.

And now, my response:

Matt 16:28 “Assuredly, I say to you, there are some standing here who shall not taste death till they see the Son of Man coming in His kingdom.ā€

I was pondering this some more and the passage in Matthew made a small light go on in my head.
You know what that makes me think of? It makes me think of Yeshua being risen from the dead in a glorified state where he didn’t need doors, didn’t need to travel… he was in his body, but is body was perfected… (examples around this topic: Mark 16; John 12:23; John 12:14-16; etc)

I want to spotlight John 12:14-16

12:13They took palm branches and went out to meet him, shouting, “Hosanna!” “Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord!” 12:14Jesus found a young donkey and sat upon it, as it is written, 12:15“Do not be afraid, O Daughter of Zion; see, your king is coming, seated on a donkey’s colt.” 12:16At first his disciples did not understand all this. Only after Jesus was glorified did they realize that these things had been written about him and that they had done these things to him.

I think the context is important here! check out the whole passage of Matt 16 that you quoted…

16:21From that time on Jesus began to explain to his disciples that he must go to Jerusalem and suffer many things at the hands of the elders, chief priests and teachers of the law, and that he must be killed and on the third day be raised to life. 16:22Peter took him aside and began to rebuke him. “Never, Lord!” he said. “This shall never happen to you!” 16:23Jesus turned and said to Peter, “Get behind me, Satan! You are a stumbling block to me; you do not have in mind the things of God, but the things of men.” 16:24Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. 16:25For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will find it. 16:26What good will it be for a man if he gains the whole world, yet forfeits his soul? Or what can a man give in exchange for his soul? 16:27For the Son of Man is going to come in his Father’s glory with his angels, and then he will reward each person according to what he has done. 16:28I tell you the truth, some who are standing here will not taste death before they see the Son of Man coming in his kingdom.”

That very last verse is the one we see in the original post. Well, it’s obviously in a larger context of Yeshua revealing the will of God for the end of his life. And notice it says he will go to Jerusalem, die, and be glorified… Well in that passage from John he’s entering Jerusalem, speaking of his Kingdom, and becoming glorified.

My friend Visionary wrote in this thread:

The sign above Yeshua at the crucifixion read, “Yeshua of Nazareth, King of the Jews.” This was written in four Hebrew words ā€“ Yeshua Hanetzeret V’melech Hayehudim. The first letters of the four words are YHVH (Yod-Hey-Vav-Hey). No wonder the religious Jews wanted the sign changed. It was as Yeshua had said that they would see I AM when the Son of Man is lifted up (John 8:28).

That is the King!

Could this reveal a possible insight into the curious words of Yeshua?

Perhaps… what do you think?

6 thoughts on “which generation did he mean?

  1. I’m not sure, but if we are to take that promise and prophecy literally, we have to look for it to have been fulfilled before the last of that generation died.
    Perhaps his actual ascension was the fulfillment. Perhaps John is the only person who sees Yeshua coming in his Kingdom (the vision of Revelation). Who knows. But if he is not a liar, we need to find answers.

  2. That seems plausable. I’ve kinda leaned towards the destruction of 70 AD being the fulfillment of Yeshua’s words, but I’m not 100% on that.

    One question regarding Yeshua’s sign for his crucifixion, why does “melekh” need a vav congunction at the beginning of it? It would then read “Yeshua of Nazareth and King of the Jews.” I’ve seen this suggestion put forth before, but the fact is we don’t know exactly what was on the sign. The Gospels only give a general description of the sign, and each one differs from each other.

    Shalom,
    Seth

Comments are closed.