i knew that wasn’t right …

I sunk into sleep around 1:30am only to wake up in a dense mental fog after what seemed like a mere instant. I shuffled to the bathroom to take a shower, palming my phone and wondering if I pressed snooze or not. As I started prepping the shower and digging my socks off with my toes a phase of the fog lifted and I stared at the time once again. I must be late, I thought. A moan of tiredness escaped my lips as I continued to blink and stare down at the clock, my mind uncooporative. I turned the phone in my hand and opened it. Closed it. Opened it. Clicked a button. What is that saying? Thirty? I should hurry. Again, I caught myself blinking at the clock as it changed minutes. Thirty one… As I turned the faucet and started wetting my toothbrush my left eyebrow loosened and cocked upwards. No… that’s Three o’clock! By the time this revelation fully sifted through the jungle of my sleepy brain I had knocked the water off, stumbled back to bed, and smiled my way into four more hours of delightful rest.

Good morning.

2 thoughts on “i knew that wasn’t right …

Comments are closed.