happy happy, joy joy

What is that from anyway? It’s in my head as I bounce around in my seat. I think I should have skipped the Mountain Dew at lunch. I’m sure you probably think I should skip it every day. You’re right! But I was feeling fizzylicious. That is now a word.

Speaking of words… sometimes I wonder why they get old. To my dear sister: the fact that you say “hot” every five seconds makes me wonder if “hot” will soon become the new “radical!” or “bogus!” Will you be able to stop yourself from saying it? Will you be the one person who still says “hot” when everyone else is saying the next annoying slang-of-the-moment? Does it matter? Perhaps not. But I think we need to remind ourselves that adjectives are supposed to add description, not heat ;). I think you’re adorable, and you probably won’t read this… but my advice is to let “hot” grow on its own. Just remember how “what cheer” got started: it shot up for a few weeks (much like pop songs on the charts today)… and fell in a glorious shower of fizzling interest (also much like pop songs on the charts today). Nobody got it but us, even though we tried so hard to use it and bring others into the “what cheer fold”.
And by the by, what was that other word? You know what I mean.

Ok so back to the general public… what slang do you think should be revived? What needs a new start? why do certain slang words or phrases stay put in our lexicon while others leak out to never be heard again until some decade-focused TV sitcom?


Examples of both:
Get outta town
Cool
Tubular
Whack/Wack
The suffix “-izzle”
Righteous
Far out
Hunk
Bread (as in money)
Bummer
Daddy-O
Dealio
Don’t have a cow
Take a chill pill
Groovy
Bee’s knees
Hip
Fly/Supafly
Blow chunks
Nifty
Swanky
Swell
Golly
Ownage/Owned (no I will not write this is 1337!)
Gimp
Goofy
Whoopie
Amped
Slammin’
Boonies
Fess up
Ghetto
Homeslice
Shorty
Scootch
Thug
LOL
Dipstick
Turd
Chach

10 thoughts on “happy happy, joy joy

  1. Peace man! Try and be groovy babe. I like the newest word of the year though…..I had a girlfriend but she “Plutoed” me and now we don’t talk much at all.

    Peace,!!

  2. Yeah, I wouldn’t have used a credit card because it would have made my hands very wet and cold. (Gloves are another thing that are hard to come by down here.)

    Thanks for the northerly advice! ;-)

    Oh, and fizzylicious is the best word I’ve heard in a long time! I’ll try and start the southern revoloution of “fizzylicious” and you can work on it up in the north.

  3. Jennifer has totally reached honorary Yankee status with the supreme knowledge of the mighty tuque! That’s way more Canadian than Yankee, but as I am half Canadian, I highly approve.

Comments are closed.