bungee money

As a side thought from some of the (very appreciated) comments on the Megachurches post below I wanted to raise the following question:

Is it right to require an individual to tithe 10% of their income? And by require, I mean “give 10% or else.”
Here’s one example.
Wouldn’t this just ruin the point of giving that part of the salary in the first place? It’s money on a bungee cord. And Isn’t there some kind of tax issue with this? Anyway… what are your thoughts about requiring someone to tithe?

My short and rather plagiarized response:

2 Cor 9:7
7 You must each make up your own mind as to how much you should give. Don’t give reluctantly or in response to pressure. For God loves the person who gives cheerfully.

6 thoughts on “bungee money

  1. This is one of the hottest topics on the web and it should be. Whereas the early church practised extreme asceticism (the poorer you were the more holy you were) the modern church promises great wealth to tithe payers. They miss the point that tithing in Malachi 3 is only a small part of thh total requirement of the Mosaic Law in Neh 10:29. It is a scam and and a scandal. 2 Cor 9:7 is sufficient. Check out my essay and free bookk download for more details. http://www.shouldthechurchteachtithing.com May Gdo bless you in your search for truth.

  2. It is unbelievably hard to get people to give to their church. It seems to me that requiring an entire church to tithe would make its members even more reluctant to do so. My pastor did a short series on giving that was excellent. Here’s the link if you want to check it out… the titles of the messages are: “Stop consuming and start giving” “stop worrying about the now Start thinking about then” “Stop thinking ‘how little’ Start thinking ‘how much'” http://www.graceky.org/index.php?c=sermons&sermonPage=3

  3. Is tithing required? Absolutely… the Bible says as much. Should it be required by the church? I would have to say no.

    I think that it is something that should be preached on… even if it is difficult. But I think that it should be made clear that tithing isn’t necessarily just money, and money shouldn’t necessarily just go to that church… even if it is difficult.

    God has provided and we should give back what is rightfully His.

  4. Right on, Matt. Most of our tithe goes to our church but we also support a local Christian homeless shelter and a mission that’s not associated with our church.

    Mr. Kelly, your essay mostly convinced me that giving in the church should not be called tithing. I feel like you didn’t address how Christians ought to give much other than how it currently is done is probably wrong. I’d be interested to see your thoughts on how the church system could be restructured to reflect a more biblical approach to giving (and perhaps pastoring as well).

    Also, the very idea of required giving, is an oxymoron. If you are required to give then you’re aren’t really giving; it is being taken from you.

  5. I believe that giving a tithe is biblical and I have no problem with churches teaching that tithing is right and good. I DO have a problem with the issue being forced on the congregation, though. I think it’s hard for someone to be a “cheerful giver” if they’re being manipulated into giving.

    And I think it’s an excellent point that there’s nothing that says the money has to go directly to church (though obviously, it makes sense to help support the congregation you attend). I think it’s kind of odd to hear a preacher say, “when you give your tithe/offering, you’re not giving to the church, you’re giving to God” but they don’t want you to give your money to a Christian charity (unless it’s over and above your tithe), they want you to give the money to the church.

    I probably didn’t express what I meant very effectively, but bleh!

  6. My short response to “is it right to require 10%?”

    No.

    My other response

    The church was never given the right to take a tithe or ask for it. Nope, not Clergy, laity, ministers, deacons, elders, bishops, cardinals, popes, pastors, prophets, teachers, evangelists.

Comments are closed.