a whole brood

Dread. That basically says just how I feel about the coming cicadas. These not-so-little red eyed buggers–for those of you who aren’t lucky enough to live in the Northern Illinois area–are 17-year cicadas from Brood XIII, which means they burrow underground eating tree root sap for 17 years before coming above ground to create a deafening racket, mate, lay eggs, and die. The millions of cicadas will be a thrill for those of us who get freaked out by insects when there are only a few of them around. Having multiple thousands per acre is causing me to lean on my panic button. Just thinking about it makes my stomach pool in my toes.

So if you don’t live out here, I apologize in advance if I mention it a lot. You have to understand my fear; it’s like a Hitchcock movie playing out in my front lawn.

6 thoughts on “a whole brood

  1. nice. I remember the cicadas in Indiana when I lived there. The dog would eat any that got into the house and you could hear them making that noise from inside his stomach. It would slowly peter out though. It was pretty hilarious.

  2. Thank you for not pretending to embrace this whole lunacy that is the cicada emergence. I just want to smack the people who walk around saying “isn’t this cool?” No. It’s not cool. I can’t run, I can’t ride my bike, I can’t enjoy my yard and we can’t even freakin’ sleep with all this noise!

  3. I was working at SpringHill in Seymour, Indiana a summer when they came and it was weird. Like alien invaders. They looked like giant houseflies, but they seemed incredibly stupid. I remember having one run into me and fall to the ground.

Comments are closed.