A wish for clarity expressed without clarity

I’m not used to limbo. I prefer surety to mystery–at least with my personal or emotional life. I want the security of understanding myself, where I stand, how things work, and what I’m feeling. This contrasts with the thrill of not knowing, discovering, and hoping. Every time I’m stuck in “No Clue Land” I learn how impatient I can be. There are times when I’m very chill and enjoying the moments as they come … but apparently I cannot yet stop my insatiable curiosity and eagerness.

I’ve been in suspense for a few weeks now, and I don’t think I’ll have any definitions or clarity for quite a few more. I’m on clouds of Maybe, floating between indefinable destinations. As the wind goes, there go I. Even so my feet are stretching, aching for the ground beneath. Part of me is thankful for the space beneath. I’m learning patience once again–the one lesson for which one should never pray lest they receive what they want.

I’m happy; I’m thankful; and I suppose the mystery is going to last whether I like it or not. The friendly duel between my instincts and my wisdom continues.

One thought on “A wish for clarity expressed without clarity

  1. Clearness Committee

    One of the greatest gifts I have received from my time around Friends (Quakers, that is) is the concept of the Clearness Committee. When one faces a quandry, that person calls together a group of trusted individuals. The group prays together and listens to God.
    First, the person who called the committee explains the concern (what the quandary or issue at hand is). The Committee asks simple clarifying questions to be sure that they understand the concern. The asking of this set of questions should not take a significant portion oif the time together.
    After the concern has been explained, the Committee goes into a period of waiting worship, listening silently for God for questions to ask the person who called the Committtee. The people on the Committee can only ask questions at this point, not opffer suggestions. Leading questions are also to be avoided. The goal is to have the person who called the Committee have clarity in his or her own mind about the concern.
    If questions come too fast, the tone gets too conversational, or the session simply becomes to intense then it is time to go back into waiting worship for a while.
    After an hour or so of these questions then it is time to ask the person who called the Committee if he or she feels like continuing in this manner, switching to a different style such as sharing insights or suggestions or even if the person feels clarity about the concern and is ready to end for the day.
    Several hours should be set aside for this process with a minimum of an hour used and a maximum of perhaps three hours. One session togeether may also not be enough.

    I have found this process to be very empowering. It really helps me not to feel overwhelmed by the issues at hand and ready to make decisions.

Comments are closed.