The obligatory Harry Potter post

The day of reckoning has arrived for Harry Potter fans worldwide. Millions of books shipped, twice as many hands cracking open spines of discovery, just as many eyes drinking in the words and revelations held within those 700-some pages that act as a capstone on a legendary series.

I’m physically anxious. I won’t lie to you–I’ll buy the book as soon as I can find it. And you can bet I’ll avoid going online as I read it so that I might not stumble onto anymore spoilers. I read one simple line on facebook completely by accident, and I feel as if my innocence, my Book Seven Virginity, as it were, has been ripped from me. I try to forget what I read, but trying only has the same effect as trying to get “It’s a Small World After All” out of one’s head. It doesn’t work. It sears the words into one’s brain like a hot branding iron. So, I suppose I’m disappointed. But I won’t let that ruin my enjoyment of this final installment of one of the most obsession-inducing sagas in youth literature.

All that said, maybe finally, after all this hype has died down, people will stop talking about Harry at every possible conscious moment. Sure, I’m a fan, but I have my limits as to how much of someone’s obsessions I can handle. So let’s all enjoy the final book, shed a few tears of parting, and then get on with life!

