The latest and greatest

What kind of environmentally friendly awesomeness can you buy for $2? This kind (credit to this blog for the inspiration). Home Depot‘s large, reusable, expandable shopping bags are the bees knees! They hook on to the sides of most metal and plastic shopping carts, allowing you to keep smaller items from rolling around while you shop and lugging tons of items easily without having to resort to plastic bags.

I just did a quick trip to Aldi. Not only did I save a bunch of money on some essential foodstuffs, I also felt like a hoss being able to carry an enormous amount of groceries in one Home Depot bag. The only downside was that Aldi’s shopping carts have a wide plastic lip that prevents the bag from locking onto the sides. I didn’t mind, though.

I should have gotten two, but I wasn’t sure if I’d love it. Turns out, two would be a great idea. I should keep at least one in the car for spur-of-the-moment trips and one in the house for when I plan things out.

So the next time you walk into a Home Depot, don’t miss the bin of rolled up bright orange bags. They’re only $2 and they’ll make a good shopping staple–especially for those who don’t want to be creating as much waste, having to stuff plastic bags into drawers and bins until they start emerging like an insidious monster, unable to be contained. Oh noes!

5 thoughts on “The latest and greatest

  1. Thanks for posting about this! I’ve been wanting to make the switch to reusable bags, but I’ve been a little chicken about it because in my area, everyone just uses the plastic bags. I have a feeling I’d spend 45 minutes at the check out trying to explain to the cashier that the reusable bags aren’t sold at Wal-Mart and that’s why they don’t have a barcode. :)

    But these bright orange Home Depot ones would be pretty obvious, huh? I’m going to look for them.

Comments are closed.