Love and Loneliness

I should not be awake. I fell asleep watching The Pink Panther (1963) after becoming unbearably fatigued. Of course, I woke up for one reason or another around midnight, and now can’t seem to get back to sleep. I have a lot on my mind—namely: love, loneliness, and bodily resurrection (the latter inspired by the novel I just finished reading, The Betrayal: The Lost Life of Jesus, by Kathleen O’Neal Gear and W. Michael Gear). I won’t be posting about resurrection tonight. I might not sleep at all, if I attempt that kind of thinking.

So what about Love and Loneliness? I saw WALL*E today with Helen; I can’t recall the last movie I saw on its opening day, so that was fun on its own. Pixar just can’t go wrong. My immediate reaction after the credits rolled was “that was the ballsiest animated film I’ve ever seen.” This is the most “grown up” movie Pixar has made. It lacks a lot of what we come to expect from animated movies, like a reliance on snappy dialog and pop-culture references. Instead, this movie says something:

We need each other. We might be able to survive alone, but we won’t truly live.
Love is the high goal of life itself. Not just romantic love, but love for beauty and culture and the simple joys of creating and building and thriving. Loving our past, present, and future. Humanity needs hope.
As stated by director Andrew Stanton, the opposite of love is loneliness.  We’re all afraid of being alone. I know I am. But being alone can happen even when we’re surrounded by crowds of people, going through our technology-infused lives, isolating ourselves, and forsaking being close and intimate with others. All it takes to stop loneliness is to reach out and touch someone–again, to love.

I saw WALL*E shortly after watching this clip of the late George Carlin’s bit on “stuff”. Note: crude language abounds.
I find it profound, and when compared to WALL*E‘s  visual of mountains and structures built of discarded stuff, I think of the humans in the movie being cast off from their home by their consuming consumerism.  I wonder if the things in life keep us from the love of life.
2 thoughts on “Love and Loneliness

  1. I think intimacy would be more of the opposite of loneliness than love :]
    And I like how you talked about love as a higher goal of life itself. I think love for beauty exists in all forms of love, more or less.

    Wonderful post and thanks for sharing those thoughts.

  2. Hi aporia :) thank you for replying!

    I think there are many opposites to love: selfishness, hatred, willful harm, using (to name a few)… I do think love can “cure” loneliness; but i don’t mean being loved cures loneliness. I am very loved, and yet struggle a lot with feeling isolated. Instead, I think loving cures loneliness. To repeat the axiom, “love as a verb.” I like how the loneliness of WALL*E inspired Stanton to make a story about love influencing not only yourself, bot everything around you.

Comments are closed.